Charles Munch;  Heifetz, Francescatti, Arrau, Haskil          (5-WHRA 6014)
Item# C0730
Availability: Usually ships the same business day

Product Description

Charles Munch;  Heifetz, Francescatti, Arrau, Haskil          (5-WHRA 6014)
C0730. CHARLES M�NCH Cond. Boston S.O.:� Zur Weihe des Hauses � Overture;� Quartet #16 in F, Op.135 � Lento assai;� Pastorale Symphony #6 in F;� Eroica Symphony #3 in E-flat;� Symphony #7 in A;� w.Jascha Heifetz:� Concerto in D;� w.Zino Francescatti:� Concerto in D;� w.Claudio Arrau:� Emperor Concerto #5 in E-flat;� w.Clara Haskil:� Concerto #3 in c (all Beethoven).� (E.U.) 5-West Hill Radio Archives WHRA 6014, Live Performances, 1954-57.� Transfers by Andrew Rose.� - 4015023160149


"It's difficult to articulate what makes Munch's conducting special - or indeed if there even is anything identifiably unique about it. A lesser talent would simply turn out generic, cookie-cutter performances; but Munch was anything but generic. He was one of the most musical of conductors; in so many of his performances, everything simply sounds 'right'. Certainly, his experience as an orchestral musician gave him a lot of practical insight into the mechanics of directing orchestra traffic. But a classic Munch interpretation never sounds calculated. Spontaneity was one of his hallmarks, sometimes to the surprise and discomfort of the musicians playing under him. From one night to the next, a Munch performance of the same piece might be very different, depending on his mood of the moment - yet it would always sound like Munch."

- Lawrence Hansen, AMERICAN RECORD GUIDE, Nov. /Dec., 2012

"When you played a concert with Charles Mnch or attended one of his performances as a listener, it was not just a concert - It was an event. He never used the same palette twice. As a player, you had to give 110% of yourself, or be left out of the music."

-Vic Firth, percussionist, Boston Symphony Orchestra