Francesco Libetta     (VAI 1242)
Item# P1073
Availability: Usually ships the same business day

Product Description

Francesco Libetta     (VAI 1242)
P1073. FRANCESCO LIBETTA: Sonata in b-flat (Balakirev); Hopak (Mussorgsky-Ravel); Pictures at an Exhibition; Hopak (both Mussorgsky). VAI 1242, Live Performance, Villa Romano, Monteroni de Lecce, Italy. Final copy! - 089948124221


"Of the new generation of pianists, Francesco Libetta is the most inspired and creative. Definitely the one to watch."

- John Ardoin

"It is small wonder why Libetta was chosen for inclusion in Marston's remarkable CENTURY OF ROMANTIC CHOPIN (P0786), the sole representation from the 21st Century! His playing of the Nocturne #2 in D-flat, Op.27 is a performance of breathtaking beauty."

- J. R. Peters

“The playing of Italian pianist Francesco Libetta has drawn accolades from critics and composers alike. György Ligeti once described it as ‘absolutely gorgeous’ and Aldo Ciccolini stated that Libetta ‘is the most talented instrumentalist of his generation’. Born in Salento, Italy, Libetta studied with locally based teachers until journeying to Paris to study composition with Jacques Castérède. Nevertheless, it is as a recitalist that Libetta has made his mark; by the age of 21 he had already played the cycle of 32 Beethoven sonatas and even more impressively was the first pianist ever to take on the cycle of 53 studies on Chopin's etudes composed by arch-virtuoso Leopold Godowsky. Ligeti's comment was collected at the time Libetta premiered his L'ESCALIER DU DIABLE in 1993. Libetta records for Agora Musica, Naïve, VAI Audio, and other labels, and he is a conductor and composer.”

- Uncle Dave Lewis,