Nathan Milstein;   de Sabata;   Markevitch    (Archipel 0430)
Item# S0412
Regular price: $9.90
Sale price: $4.95
Availability: Usually ships the same business day

Product Description

Nathan Milstein;   de Sabata;   Markevitch    (Archipel 0430)
S0412. NATHAN MILSTEIN, w.Markevitch Cond. Schweizer Festspielorchester: Concerto in e (Mendelssohn), Live Performance, 1953, Luzern; Sabata Cond. NYPO: Concerto in D (Brahms), Live Performance, 16 March, 1950, Carnegie Hall. (Germany) Archipel 0430. Final copies. - 4035122404302


"Always putting the music before himself was a hallmark of Milstein’s humility and humanity….The instrument is an extension of the human voice, and the bow is to playing the violin as the breath is to singing….I measure violinists by somewhat different standards; and by those standards, if anyone deserves the title of greatest violinist of the 20th century, it is Nathan Milstein."

- Jerry Dubins, FANFARE, Jan./Feb., 2006

"Nathan Milstein was a violinist’s violinist. While he possessed a superb virtuoso technique, he was never ostentatious. When the music sparkled as he played, it was because he was clearly enjoying it and wanted you to enjoy it too, not because he wanted to dazzle you with his own personality or tone, à la Heifetz. He could do justice to true musical masterpieces, and not just use them as vehicles for display as Heifetz too often did….If you want to hear a master enjoying himself, this set is a good choice."

- Joseph Magil, AMERICAN RECORD GUIDE, Nov./Dec., 2005