Suite in Four Movements     (Eric Coates)
Item# B1125
Availability: Usually ships the same business day

Product Description

Suite in Four Movements     (Eric Coates)
B1125. ERIC COATES. Suite in Four Movements. Melbourne, William Heinemann, 1953. 271pp. Index; Photos.


“Eric Coates enrolled (1906) at the Royal Academy of Music in London, where he received viola lessons from Lionel Tertis and studied composition with Frederick Corder. From 1910 he played in the Queen's Hall Orchestra under Henry J. Wood, becoming principal violist in 1912, ‘... which post I held for seven years’, he said, speaking in a 1948 BBC radio interview, ‘until, I regret to say, I was dismissed through sending deputies to take my place when I was conducting my works elsewhere. Henry Wood little knew what a great help he had been to me by dispensing with my services, for from that day I never touched my viola again and was able to devote all my time to my writing’. He had an early success with the overture THE MERRYMAKERS (1922), but more popular was the LONDON SUITE (1933). The last movement of this, ‘Knightsbridge’, was used by the BBC to introduce their radio programme ‘In Town Tonight’. Amongst his early champions was Sir Edward Elgar. Coates' autobiography, SUITE IN FOUR MOVEMENTS, was published in 1953.”

- Zillah Dorset Akron