Master Musicians, 1919 Edition   (J. Cuthbert Hadden)
Item# B1604
Availability: Usually ships the same business day

Product Description

Master Musicians, 1919 Edition   (J. Cuthbert Hadden)
B1604. J. CUTHBERT HADDEN. Master Musicians - A book for Players Singers & Listeners. London, Foulis, 1919. 254pp. Profiles incl. Clara Schumann, Handel, Bach, Haydn, Mozart, Beethoven, Schubert, Schumann, Mendelssohn, Chopin, Wagner, Liszt, Verdi & Grieg, w.handsome tipped-in sepia photos & plates. Original red buckram hardback. A nice copy of a beautifully-produced book. Excellent copy has partial bookplate inside front cover.


“J. Cuthbert Hadden (1861–1914) was a prolific Scottish author, journalist, biographer and organist. He began his working life as a bookseller's assistant in Aberdeen and afterwards studied music in London while employed in the publishing house of George Routledge & Sons. He entered the musical profession and returned to Aberdeen as an organist. In 1881, he became organist of St Michael's Parish Church, Crieff. Hadden wrote at least 98 articles for the Dictionary of National Biography. Articles written by him in the DNB were designated by the initials ‘J. C. H.’. He died in Edinburgh on 2 May 1914."

"T. N. Foulis was a publishing company founded in Edinburgh in 1904 which continued to publish books until 1925. The company's books are characterised by high production values, using expensive watermarked paper and tipped-in plates. As the Foulis catalogue for 1913 proudly states: 'Each Foulis book is the particular outcome of much personal thought and consideration. The more mechanical methods of modern publishing, which pours books out wholesale, bound indiscriminately or with a featureless uniformity, have no attraction for Mr. Foulis and his fellow craftsmen'.”