Georges Enescu  (Dante LYS 312)
Item# C0087
Regular price: $99.90
Sale price: $45.95
Availability: Usually ships the same business day

Product Description

Georges Enescu  (Dante LYS 312)
C0087. GEORGES ENESCU Cond. USSR S.O.: Tschaikowsky & Enescu. (France) Dante LYS 312, Live Performances, 21 April, 1946 . Very long out-of-print, Final Sealed Copy! - 3421710413121


"Georges Enesco; August 19, 1881 - May 4, 1955) was a Romanian composer, violinist, conductor and pedagogue. He displayed musical talent in many areas at a very young age, composing his first piece at age five. Enescu was admitted to the Vienna Conservatory at age seven, and graduated at age twelve. While still in Vienna, he began is concert career with the concertos of Johannes Brahms and Felix Mendelssohn, as well as the works of Sarasate. The following year he traveled to Paris to study composition with Jules Massenet and Gabriel Fauré.

Heavily influenced by Romanian folk music, his most enduring works are the two Romanian Rhapsodies (1901-2), the opera OEDIPE (1936), and the suites for orchestra. He also wrote three symphonies, the symphonic poem 'Vox maris', and a quantity of chamber music

Enesco was also a conductor of note, leading the Orchestre Symphonique de Paris and several American orchestras, including the New York Philharmonic in 1937-8. He was one of the most influential violin teachers counting among his pupils Yehudi Menuhin, Ivry Gitlis, Arthur Grumiaux, and Ida Haendel."

- Classical.Net