Faust  (Pelletier;  Crooks, Jepson, Pinza, Warren)   (2-Naxos 8.110016/17)
Item# OP0024
Regular price: $39.95
Sale price: $19.97
Availability: Usually ships the same business day

Product Description

Faust  (Pelletier;  Crooks, Jepson, Pinza, Warren)   (2-Naxos 8.110016/17)
OP0024. FAUST, Live Performance, 6 April, 1940, Boston Opera House, w.Pelletier Cond. Met Opera Ensemble; Richard Crooks, Helen Jepson, Ezio Pinza, Leonard Warren, etc., replete with Milton Cross' commentaries. (England) 2-Naxos 8.110016/17. Transfers by Richard Caniell. Very long out-of-print, Final Sealed Copy! - 636943101629


“Gounod’s FAUST comes courtesy of a Met tour date at the Boston Opera House in April 1940. The leading American lyric tenor Richard Crooks, one of the finest of all American singers, takes the title role, reaching an apogee in a fine account of ‘Salut! Demeure’. His innocent victim Marguerite is sung by American soprano Helen Jepson in an attractive portrayal based on a lovely voice, good French, and a good technique. She partners him particularly well throughout the Garden Scene. Though he pours out strong tone as Marguerite’s disagreeable brother, Leonard Warren’s Valentin is somewhat monotonous. By contrast, Ezio Pinza’s Méphistophélès is a portrait of considerable humour delivered in a voluminous bass.”

- Classical-music.com, 20 Jan., 2012