Kirsten Flagstad;   Ormandy;  McArthur               (Romophone 81023)
Item# V0665
Availability: Usually ships the same business day

Product Description

Kirsten Flagstad;   Ormandy;  McArthur               (Romophone 81023)
V0665. KIRSTEN FLAGSTAD, w.McArthur (Pf.): Haugtussa (Grieg), 1940 Version; Complete 1937 Victor Recordings, incl. Arias from Fidelio, Oberon, Lohengrin, Die Walküre & Götterdämmerung; Ah, Perfido! (Beethoven) (all w. Ormandy Cond. Philadelphia Orch.). (England) Romophone 81023. Transfers by Mark Obert-Thorn. Elaborate booklet has discographic data, photos & notes by J.B. Steane. Long out-of-print, Final Sealed Copy! - 754238102325


"[Flagstad's] voice sounds luscious and, in these immaculate transfers by Mark Obert-Thorn, there is not even a hint of surface noise, just that opulent voice pouring out of the speakers....Of the six recordings with Ormandy and his fabulous Philadelphians, the prizes are a majestic 'Ozean, du Ungeheuer,' complete with a secure trill, and an 'Immolation Scene' of incomparable richness and depth."

- James Camner, FANFARE, March/April, 1997

“Mme Flagstad was the greatest singer and the greatest voice I have ever heard.”

- Vincent Sheean, FIRST AND LAST LOVE, pp.278-79